BLOOMFIELD Educational * Foundation

P.O. Box 1358 Bloomfield, NJ 07003 (973) 403-0032 info@bloomfieldeducationalfoundation.org

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 11, 2020

For More Information Contact: Ann Dassing

info@bloomfieldeducationalfoundation.org

973-403-0032

Bloomfield Educational Foundation Awards \$44,000 in Scholarships to BHS Graduates

Bloomfield, NJ -- On Wednesday, June 4th, during the virtual 2020 Scholarship Awards Ceremony, various BEF Board members and scholarship donors presented nineteen students with twenty one scholarships, totaling \$38,000. An additional \$6000 will be awarded this year by the BEF thanks to the generosity of Candace Straight, benefactor of The Leroy Straight and Dorothy Jewkes Straight Scholarships, which are paid out in four-year installments. These award winners include: Christelle Louis, Kajal Patel, from the class of '17; class of '18 students, Gianna Schiller, Desmond Soto Schwartz, and Haley Patel and Adam Itzkowitz, class of '19, all of whom are matriculating at Rutgers Newark and Rutgers New Brunswick.

"We are so pleased to support these well deserving students as they begin the next chapter of their lives," stated Terence Mullane, BEF Chairman.

The following students received 2020 BEF awards: Michael Bsales, winner of the Anthony Pascal Family Scholarship and the F. James White "True Competitor" award; Luca Ponticello, and Megan Carter, winners of the Class of 1965 Scholarships; Alexandria Corio, winner of The Fred Celluro Memorial Scholarship and the Sgt. Joseph Paris Memorial Scholarship; Grace Carlin, The Jackie Courter Fine Arts Scholarship winner; Michael Gillespie, winner of The Joseph Poniatowski Beneficial Association award; Rendell Amilcar, Mia Lopez, Manas Ranpariya and Sophia Rubino, all winners of The Leroy Straight and Dorothy Jewkes

Straight Scholarship; Dominic Dominguez, and Rosa Marfia, Mark & Charlotte Greenstein Student Athlete Award winners; Camille Aquino, the Matthew Melucci Scholarship winner; Delyse Howard won The Robert Fetterly Alumni Scholarship; Anna Haraka, winner of the Sheldon Seevak/Anne Itkin Ethics Award; Jeffrey Diaz, the 2020 Sidney Itkin Scholarship; Brandon Estelle and Gina Perrotta, winners of the Theodore Jasieniecki Scholarships; and Joshua Castro, winner of the William Foley Scholarship.

About the BEF

The Bloomfield Educational Foundation was founded in 1999 and is a 501-c-3 organization dedicated to enhancing the educational experiences for all students of the Bloomfield School System. To date, the BEF has given over 1 million dollars to the Bloomfield School District in the form of teacher grants, District special programs and scholarships. The BEF also assists BHS alumni re-connect through the Fall Tailgate Party, Winter Theodore Jasieniecki Alumni Basketball Game and Spring Gala. For more information about the BEF, visit our website: www.bloomfieldeducationalfoundation.org